admin@cp.ebor.academy 01757 618249
Camblesforth School logo Gold

Camblesforth Calendar Dates Autumn Term 2017-2018

Date Event and details
Monday 4th September 2017 Back to school from summer holidays
Thursday 14th September 2017 Over the summer our Behaviour and Wellbeing Leader, Mrs Bell has developed our ‘Hub’.  Well being, self esteem, self belief, aspiration and understanding the values of a community, are crucial elements to our children’s learning and The Hub is where much of our restorative and PSHCE curriculum is delivered to all of our children, exploring themes such as going for goals, getting on/falling out, bullying, new beginnings and changes.  

Please come and join us to celebrate the opening of our hub at 3pm and stay for tea and coffee.  

Wednesday 20th September 2017 Afternoon – Year 3/4 Cluster Schools Handball Festival at Brayton (selected children)
Thursday 21st September 2017 6pm – We would like to invite you in to school to share what we have planned this term and to see your child’s teacher and classroom.  This will also be a time for us  to show you ‘Number Gym’, teaching and learning of spellings and chrome books and for you to try them out so please join us.
Monday 25th September 2017 3.30 pm and 6pm – We will be holding a workshop on the teaching of phonics.  Please join us to find out how we teach phonics to our children to help them read and write.  
Friday 29th September 2017 2.00pm Harvest Festival in school.  This year our theme is ‘What’s for tea?’ and classes will be presenting what their favourite meals are, where the food has come from and how it is grown and harvested.  If you would like to donate any tinned or dry food to our local food bank, please bring to school in the morning.  

Afterwards – bread tasting in classes so we hope you can join us!

Thursday 5th October Autumn themed afternoon
Friday 6th October 2017 Afternoon – Year 3/4 Quicksticks Hockey at Selby (selected children)

3pm Nidd Sharing Assembly (Reception/Year 1)

Thursday 11th October 2017 Book Fest – we are having a day of reading with activities linked to books.  More details will follow but keep the afternoon free if you can!

6pm – Please join us to look at how we teach children to read and answer retrieval, deduction and inference questions.

Friday 13th October 2017 3pm Derwent Sharing Assembly (Year 2/3)
Tuesday 17th October 2017 Parent forum 9.15am and 6pm.  We really appreciate parents’ views to help us improve the school further and this is an opportunity for you to help us do this.  We will be holding forums every half term with a specific focus.  This time we will be discussing homework and communication using our website, twitter and introducing BLOOMZ communication app. so please join us.  The sessions will be approximately an hour and refreshments will be provided.
Child photographs – 8.30am child and siblings

                                9.15 onwards individual photographs

Wednesday 18th October 2017 Restorative Practice is based on respect, honesty and trust and is the bedrock of our ethos in school.  As such we have a growing culture of mutual respect where everyone has a voice.  Please join us at one of the following workshops to see what Restorative Practice is and why this is so important in our school.  We will be holding Restorative Practice Workshops for parents in school at:.

9am

2pm

6pm

Thursday 19th October 2017 Afternoon – Year 5/6 Girls Cluster Schools Football Event (selected children)
Friday 20th October 2017 Diwali Celebration.  Please join us at 2pm for Diwali activities in your child’s class.

School breaks up at 3.30pm for autumn half term holiday

Monday 30th October 2017 Back to school
Start of ICT Safety Week
Tuesday 31st October 2017 Halloween Disco – Early Years and Year 1 – 3.30-4.45

                             Year 2 to 6 – 5pm-6.30pm

Friday 3rd November 2017 Bonfire Night Assembly
Tuesday 7th November 2017 Afternoon – Year 3-6 Cluster Schools Cross Country Event at Brayton
Friday 10th November 2017 Remembrance Day Theme
3pm Foss Sharing Assembly (Year 4/5)
Tuesday 14th November Open Day – Please come and join our learning throughout the day.  Join in with our Creative Curriculum.  Pop in and spend as long as you would like seeing what we are learning in school.  
Friday 17th November 2017 Staff training day
Monday 20th November 2017 3.30-7.00pm Parent Teacher Meetings
Learning Through Hull The City of Culture Week (school trip to be arranged)
Monday 27th November 2017 Afternoon Year 5/6 Cluster Sportshall Athletics at Selby (selected children)
Friday 1st December 2017 3pm Humber Sharing Assembly (Year 6)
Tuesday 12th December 2017 Whole school Christmas Nativity Performance (afternoon) 2pm
Whole school Christmas Nativity Performance (evening) 6pm
Friday 15th December 2017 Christmas lunch

Parents are invited to join us (invitation to follow)

Monday 18th December 2017 Christmas disco – Early Years and Year 1 – 3.30-4.45

                            Year 2 to 6 – 5pm-6.30pm

Wednesday 20th December 2017 Derwent, Foss and Humber Christmas party afternoon (more details to follow)
Thursday 21st December 2017 Nidd Christmas party afternoon (more details to follow)
Friday 22nd December 2017 Christmas Jumper Day – wear a Christmas jumper and donate £1 for ‘Save the Children’

School breaks up at 3.30pm for Christmas holidays

Monday 8th January 2018 Back to school

 

We will also be arranging maths and writing workshops – dates to be confirmed.